Sunday Morning in My Yard

Sunday yard header

All is peaceful, as it should be on an early Sunday morning.  Sam, the son, is off on a 10 mile hike with his Boy Scout troop.  Emma, the 14 year old tempest, is still up in her room and will not emerge until the morning has faded.

I wandered out to the yard and was loving the light, as it peeked over the canyon rim and through the eucalyptus leaves into my yard.  I went back in for my camera, and with my trusty cats at my side, I took photos of anything that caught my eye.  Enjoy a sunny, but chilly (for us!) January morning in San Diego.

The view into the canyon from my yard.  We have had recent rains, which accounts for all the green!

The view into the canyon from my yard. We have had recent rains, which accounts for all the green!  The hint of red on the right are leaves on a laurel sumac.

My companions this morning.  Bella is 18 and very creaky, so she likes to find a sunny spot to sit in so she can warm up her old bones.  Julius, is a male in the prime of his life.  He is lord of all he surveys, from on top of his tree stump with a funny face nailed to it.  I guess we should maybe rethink his throne decoration.

My companions this morning. Bella is 18 and very creaky, so she likes to find a sunny spot to sit in so she can warm up her old bones. Julius is a male in the prime of his life. He is lord of all he surveys, from on top of his tree stump with a funny face nailed to it. I guess we should maybe rethink his throne decoration.

A riot of reds.  A Chinese lantern, geranium, and two amaryllis.

A riot of reds. A Chinese lantern, geranium, and two amaryllis.

In the winter my succulents come into bloom.  On the left, aloe, on the right, jade.

In the winter my succulents come into bloom. On the left, aloe, on the right, jade.

A fairy, a superhero, and a glorious trophy lady all soak up the morning sun.

A fairy, a superhero, and a glorious trophy lady all soak up the morning sun.

Birds getting breakfast.  Birds are very practical creatures.  If your feeders are empty, they do not grace your backyard with their presence.  I like to give them imaginary dialogue.  "WTF lady, where's the friggin' food."

Birds getting breakfast. Birds are very practical creatures. If your feeders are empty, they do not grace your backyard with their presence. I like to give them imaginary dialogue when they show up and I have let them down. “WTF lady, where’s the friggin’ food?”

Sunlight through leaves.  Just think of all the frenetic biochemistry going on in there, as chloroplasts work the miracle of turning sunlight into sugars.  Without those little green guys, we could not exist.  And green leaves make such pretty pictures!~

Sunlight on leaves. Just think of all the frenetic biochemistry going on in there, as chloroplasts work the miracle of turning sunlight into sugars. Without those little green guys, we could not exist. And green leaves make such pretty pictures!

Burro tails and century plant leaves with water drops.  And my preacher pig, who is unfortunately getting covered in bird poop due to his proximity to the feeder.  I guess it is just his cross to bear...

Burro tails and century plant leaves covered with water drops. And my preacher pig, who is unfortunately getting covered in bird poop due to his proximity to the feeder. I guess it is just his cross to bear…

Some random photos.  A pot of plants that are coming up, but I can't remember what I planted.  Some kind of flower, or maybe catnip?  One of our little houses from the outdoor village, that is now sporting a jade plant.  The houses weren't supposed to be outdoors, and they are decaying in a very attractive fashion.   Finally, the baby's toes blooming.  Kind of a gruesome name for a plant, IMHO.  There is a seaweed called Dead Man's Fingers also.  Accurate, descriptive, but yucky.

Some random photos. A pot of plants that are coming up, but I can’t remember what I planted. Some kind of flower, or maybe catnip? One of our little houses from the outdoor village, that is now sporting a jade plant. The houses weren’t supposed to be outdoors, and they are decaying in a very attractive fashion. Finally, blooming baby’s toes. Kind of a gruesome name for a plant, IMHO. There is a seaweed called Dead Man’s Fingers also. Accurate, descriptive, but yucky.

Let's finish up with some more floral gorgeousness.  Cyclamen (one of my favorites) and yet another picture of the ridiculously photogenic amaryllis that my friend Lori gave me.  Thank you Lori!

Let’s finish up with some more floral gorgeousness. Cyclamen (one of my favorites) and yet another picture of the ridiculously photogenic amaryllis that my friend Lori gave me. Thank you Lori!

Hope you enjoyed your Sunday in San Diego.  Winter break is almost over, time to get back to work and school.  Relish these last few hours of relaxation.

3 Comments

Filed under Arts/Crafts/Photography

3 responses to “Sunday Morning in My Yard

  1. celia Abrams

    I really enjoyed the beauty of your yard and a feeling like we could experience the same sights so far away. I remember Bella. The cacti are really pretty and seem to enjoy each other.

  2. Bubba and Zaida

    We loved your quiet, peaceful morning in San Diego. As always, your garden is award-winning and so is your photography.

  3. Roberta Froome

    I see so much more in your garden than mine – thanks to the clear, bright photos! Such a pleasure walking in your backyard via your blog. Love the quirky little spots, too.

Leave a Reply

