Are Sunset Photos Cliche?

Sunset.header

I like to do a post on photos every now and then, since those who know me know I like to take photos.  A lot of photos.  So I trolled through my stuff and found many pics I have snapped over the years.  Then I went to BrainyQuotes to find a nice quote to start my post.  I saw this one from Carlos Santana, and I thought “Perfect, he grew up on the West Coast!”

Santana Quote

And then I saw this one by Catherine Opie, and she made me feel bad.

Obie quote

“Catherine Opie who?”, you may ask, as I did.  Well, she is a professor of photography at UCLA, had a show at the Guggenheim, etc, etc.  She specializes in documentary photography, which I guess is not cliche.  Probably it’s chic and important.  But, however banal, lackluster, hackneyed, derivative, and trite it may be, I am forging ahead!  Because who doesn’t like an awesome sunset photo, dammit!  Besides Catherine Opie that is.

Gualala, CA

Gualala, CA

Sunset.Gualala.Big.Sun

Gualala, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

Sunset.Shore birds

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

San Diego, CA

Anza Borrego Desert, CA

Anza Borrego Desert, CA

Near Zion, Utah

Near Zion, Utah

Racine, Wi

Racine, WI

Western PA

Western PA

Classic!  Photo of your kids in front of a sunset so beautiful it looks fake.

Classic! Photo of your kids in front of a sunset so beautiful it looks fake.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Arts/Crafts/Photography

One response to “Are Sunset Photos Cliche?

  1. Bubba and Zaida

    In our book your sunsets are spectacular and hardly cliches. We loved the photos.

Leave a Reply

